OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN
PRESIDENT
Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

**voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN** Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED** Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE**
Sacramento County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790

E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

May 4, 2017

The Honorable Marc Berman, Chair Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

The Honorable Ian Calderon

The Honorable Evan Low

The Honorable Kevin Mullin

The Honorable Shirley Weber

State Capitol Building, Room 6011

Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Berman and Members of the Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **AB 1730**, your proposed legislation which would amend Elections Codes 2153, 11020, and 12262 dealing with contacting affiants, district arguments, Recall Notices of Intention, and district boundary changes.

- Elections Code 2153 Current law states that election officials are to telephone
 an affiant if the voter registration card is missing information, causing the affiant to
 not be registered. Your proposal to strike the telephone requirement allowing the
 election official to use other means, such as email, to obtain the missing
 information will allow more opportunities for election officials to complete
 registrations prior to elections so voters are not disenfranchised or needing to
 vote provisionally due to an incomplete registration.
- Elections Code 11020 Current law details what information must be printed on the notice of intention for a recall election. One of the requirements in subsection (c) is the residence address. Your proposal is to clarify that the entire residence address, including street address, city and zip code, be listed. This clarification will assist the elections official and proponent to have the correct information on the notice of intention.
- Elections Code 12262 Current law states that jurisdictions have until 88 days prior to an election to make and submit boundary changes to the elections official, and any changes made less than 88 days will not go into effect until after the election. For elections officials, E-88 is a very pivotal day in the election calendar, and adjusting boundaries on that day would hinder the official's capacity to proceed with the election in a timely fashion to ensure that all voters are in their appropriate districts, that signers to nomination petitions are indeed valid signatures, and that candidates are indeed in the district that they are running for. Your proposal sets a 125 day requirement for districts to submit their boundary changes to ensure that the elections officials have made the necessary changes and verifications that all voters are properly districted before the 88th day.

Page 2
 May 4, 2017

If you or your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at <u>tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.us</u> or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at <u>lavinej@saccounty.net</u> or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

SsicialEbber

Tricia Webber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee